Gaibandha district stands on the bank of the river Jammna(Brhammaputtra) and is located betwen 250 03' 00"N -25039' 00N,89012'00"E- 890 42'00E". . It consists of 7(Seven) Upazilas, 3(three) Pourasavas (Municipality) and 82(Eighty two) Unions. Bhabanigonj Sub-division was createad on 27th August 1858 comprising Sadullapur and Bhabanigonj Police Station under the then Rangpur district. However, Bhabanigonj Sub-divition was eroded by river erosion in 1875, as such that Sub-division was shifted to Gaibandha. Consequently, the Bhabanigonj Sub-division was renamed as Gaibandha Sub-division. Gaibandha district is sorrounded by the river Testa, Rangpur and Kurigram district in the north, Bogra district in the south, Rangpur, Dinajpur and Joypurhat districts in the west and Bramaputtra river in the east. Later on, the Gaibandha Sub-division was promoted to district on 15th February 1984. The economy of Gaibandha district is based primarily on agriculture. Recently the district has become one of the food surplas districts. Parallaly,considerable portion of livelihood are based on fishing, service, small &cottage industries. Rangpur Sugar Mill is located at Mohimagonj under Gaibandha which is also famous in the northern region. The intercommunication system of the district is enormously developed in the last three decades as a result most of the villages are jeepable except few exceptions.There are some prominant rivers exist in this district such as Brhammaputtra, Testa, Korotoa, Bangali, Ghaghot etc as such flood and river erosion are common phenomenon to the life of the people of Gaibandha.
Gaibandha At a Glance
Area: 2179km2
Upazila Road: 625.15 km
Union Road: 755.79Km
Village Road: 1748.33Km VA
1470.79Km VB
Population: 2430627(2001)
Density: 1150Km2
Literacy: 54%
No. of Upazila: 7
No. of Union: 82
No. of Pourashava: 3
No. of Primary School: 1257
No. of High School: 353
No. of College: 75
Procurment, gaibandha